top of page


West Pilbara Communities for Children

KCH - PCMG 1_edited.jpg

About WPC4C

Facilitating Partner 

RDA Pilbara, as facilitating partner for the WPC4C Initiative, funds local community partners to deliver programmes that are aimed at creating child-friendly communities, healthy young families, supporting family and parents, early learning and school transition and engagement.

West Pilbara Communities For Children

West Pilbara Communities for Children (WPC4C) is a sub activity of the Department of Social Services Families and Children Programme under the Families and Communities Programme, which aims to deliver positive and sustainable outcomes for children up to 12 years and their families in disadvantaged communities throughout Australia. 

See our Strategic Plan 2021-2026 here.

Family and Communities Programme

The Families and Children Programme delivered under the Families and Communities Programme is a national programme that provides funding to non-government organisations to support families and children, especially those who are vulnerable or in areas of disadvantage. It provides early intervention and preventative family support focusing on supporting families, strengthening relationship, improving children's wellbeing and increasing the participation of people in community life to enhance family and community functioning.

The FCP provides a range of services, focused on strengthening relationships, building parenting and financial management skills, providing support for better community connections, as well as services to help newly arrived migrants in their transition to life in Australia.

Family support services are a vital part of the Australian Government's efforts as part of the National Framework for Protecting Australia's Children to intervene early to guard against the abuse and neglect of our children and to complement the state and territory governments' child protection systems. 

The Family and Communities Programme comprises the following seven activities: 

  • Financial Wellbeing and Capability

  • Families and Children

  • Strengthening Communities

  • Settlement Services

  • Civil Society

  • Families and Communities Service Improvement; and

  • National Initiatives.

The Family and Children Programme has six services types:      

  • Communities for Children

  • Family Law Services

  • Family and Relationship Services

  • Children and Parenting

  • Young People; and

  • Adult Specialist Support. 

WPC4C Initiative

The initiative provides funding to Community Partners to develop and implement appropriate services for children and families focusing on the following Family Support Program outcomes:

  • To improve the health and well-being of families and the development of young children, from before birth through to age 12, paying special attention to:

      - Healthy young families

      - Supporting families and parents

      - Early learning

      - School transition and engagement

  • To create strong child-friendly communities that understand the importance of children and apply this capacity to maximise the health, well-being and early development of young children at the local level.

Examples of activities being implemented by WPC4C Community Partners include:

  • Early learning and literacy programmes

  • Early development of social and communication skills

  • Parenting and family support programmes

  • Child nutrition, and

  • Community events to celebrate the importance of children, families and the early years.

Download your free copy of the 2024 WPCFC Directory
2024 Family Directory Cover.png




There is $1.1m available for the 2024/2025 West Pilbara Communities for Children program.  Applications open on 15 January 2024 and close on 18 February 2024 at 5.00pm.


Application Form:

WPC4C Region

WPC4C works closely with not for profit organisations in the City of Karratha and the Shire of Ashburton. The City of Karratha includes Karratha and the towns of Dampier, Wickham, Roebourne, Point Samson and the surrounding Indigenous communities. The Shire of Ashburton includes the towns of Onslow, Pannawonica, Paraburdoo, Tom Price and the surrounding Indigenous communities.

If you would like to read more about the City of Karratha or Shire of Ashburton please see the links below:

bottom of page